Skip to content ↓

Welcome from the Chair of Governors

Welcome to the Minster School. We governors are immensely proud of the staff (teaching and non-teaching) and students who continue to produce work and results of the highest calibre. Many of you will know that we currently have the highest rating that OFSTED can give, outstanding. We continue to assess our standards against those benchmarks to ensure we retain that judgement in any future review. 

On 1 December 2018 Minster School became an academy within the Minster Trust for Education (MITRE), a Multi Academy Trust (MAT) that will over the next year include a number of our feeder primary schools as they also convert to academies. The transition to an academy will change the way we are funded and we will be directly accountable to MITRE. Governors will be working hard to ensure that this change has minimal impact on students and staff whilst looking to take advantage of the opportunities that being an academy presents.

We are a National Teaching School with over 70 Schools joining our Teaching School Alliance. We are also the East Midlands East Maths Hub and Nottinghamshire Music Hub all of which enables our staff with advanced skills to assist other schools to improve their performance by sharing best practice and at the same time improving our own standards as well. 

We monitor and evaluate the school to ensure that it is using best practice through all disciplines to give our students the best learning environment that can be achieved. We receive progress reports and challenge the Head and leadership team at each governors’ termly meeting to ensure that the strategy for continual improvement is working. We also recognise our responsibilities as employers and seek to improve the working environment where possible and support all our staff both teaching and non-teaching.

Governors act as ‘critical friends’ to the school and we seek to ensure that the high targets set are achieved. We do this by regular meetings with staff and department heads, each governor having responsibility for a specific department.

You may be aware from the media that lack of adequate funding for schools is a real concern and our school is no exception. As Governors we are responsible for ensuring financial probity and set a very challenging budget, regularly monitor spending, ensure that value for money is obtained and that risks to the organisation are managed. The transition to an academy has changed the way we are funded but has not changed the amount of funding we will receive, so financially the future remains very challenging but we are determined to maintain standards.

All governors give their time freely and details of who we are can be seen on the website. If there are issues that need to be addressed I would ask that you follow the procedures laid down and detailed on our site but I accept responsibility as chair and am happy to be contacted through school if you are unable to resolve any issues. I am very grateful for the time given by all governors, because without such support the school would not be able to run as it does.

If you need to contact me directly then please write to me at school in an envelope marked 'private and confidential'.

Alan Wright

Our Governors

Current Governors

  • Mrs Michele Atkinson - Local Authority - Term of Office - 17/11/20 - 16/11/24

  • Mr Robert Beckett - Foundation - Term of Office 01/09/18 - 31/08/22

  • Mr Ben Chaloner - Staff - Headteacher (Ex-Officio) - Term of Office -  01/11/20 

  • Reverend Canon Dr Richard Frith - Foundation (Ex-Officio) - Term of Office Commenced - 14/10/19 

  • Mrs Hayley Gault - Staff -  Term of Office 21/03/21 - 20/03/25

  • Reverend James Halstead - Foundation - Term of Office - 18/01/21 - 17/01/25

  • Professor Jonathan Hardman - Parent - Term of Office 28/11/18 - 27/11/22

  • Mr Nigel Ladbury - Foundation (Chapter) - Term of Office 01/09/18 - 31/08/22

  • Mrs Charley Pierpoint - Parent - Term of Office - 28/11/18 - 27/11/22

  • Mr Paul Provost - Foundation (Council of St Johns College) - Term of Office - 18/06/19 - 17/06/23

  • Ms Tracey Sparkes - Foundation (Chapter) - Term of Office 12/11/20 - 11/11/24

  • Mr David Shannon - Foundation Chapter)  - Term of Office 05/11/17 - 04/11/21
  • Mrs Elizabeth Turner - Foundation (Chapter) - Term of Office 17/11/20 - 16/11/24

  • Mr Andy Wall - Staff Co-opted - Term of Office 17/11/20 - 16/11/24

  • Mr Roger Wood - Staff Co-opted -  Term of Office 15/11/20 - 14/11/24

  • Mr Alan Wright - Chair, Foundation (Chapter) - Term of Office 01/09/18 - 31/08/22

  • Mrs Vicky Wicks - Parent - Term of Office 23/03/2021 - 22/03/25

Governors' Meetings

Meetings 2020 - 2021

Full Governing Body

Autumn Term – Tuesday, 17 November 2020 at 6.30pm

Spring Term - Tuesday, 9 March 2021 at 6.30pm

Summer Term - Tuesday, 15 June 2021 at 6.30pm


The Minster School Governing Body has determined that it will operate through the following committees:

  • Finance General Purposes and Personnel (FGP&P) - Meetings begin at 4:30pm on the dates below 
  • Strategic Development and Pupils (SD&P) - Meetings begin at 4:45pm on the dates below 
  • Discipline Committee (DC) - when required
  • Pay Committee (PC) - when required

Committee Meetings

Autumn Term – SD&P. Tuesday 6 October 2020 at 4.5pm / FGP&P, Wednesday 7 October 2020 at 4.30pm

Spring Term - SD&P, Tuesday 23 February 2021 at 4.45pm / FGP&P, Wednesday 24February 2021 at 4.30pm

Summer Term - SD&P, Tuesday 8 June 2021 at 4.45pm / FGP&P, Wednesday 9 June 2021 at 4.30pm

Committee Members

Strategic Development and Pupils' Committee: Mr D Shannon (Chair), Mr B Chaloner (Ex-officio), Mrs H Gault,        Ms T Sparkes, Reverend Canon Dr R Frith (Ex-officio), Mr P Provost, Mrs C Pierpoint, Mrs M Atkinson, Mr A Wall; Reverend J Halstead

Finance, General Purposes and Personnel Committee: Mr R Beckett (Chair), Mr B Chaloner (Ex-officio),                      Mr N Ladbury, Mrs E Turner, Mr R Wood, Reverend Canon Dr R Frith (Ex officio), Professor J Hardman

Discipline Committee: The Committee will be made up of three Governors from the Governing Body except Minster staff Governors

Admissions Panel: Mrs M Atkinson, Mrs E Turner, Mr A Wright

Appeals Committee: All Governors except Minster staff Governors

Pay Committee:  Mr A Wright, Mr D Shannon, Mr R Beckett

Complaints:  Mr A Wright (Chair of Governors